ZZ Top
Double Down Live

Eagle Rock Entertainment To Release 


~October 20, 2009~ 

New York, NY (September 30, 2009)—On October 20, Eagle Rock Entertainment, through its wholly-owned Eagle Vision subsidiary, will release ZZ Top’s Double Down Live, the first historic concert performance ever to be approved for release by the band. [Pre-book order date September 30, MSRP $24.98]. Clocking in at just under two hours, this double dose disc delivers twenty-eight years of hard rock, blues, and boogie – ZZ Top Style! 

Disc one, filmed in 1980, is dubbed “THEN” and is packed with 22 early ZZ Top classics from their Tres Hombres and Fandango! albums, including: “La Grange,” “Tush,” “Cheap Sunglasses,” “Tube Snake Boogie,” and more, many of which remain in their live set to this day. This concert was captured at the Grugahalle in Essen, Germany for the Rockpalast TV series. The concert took place hot on the heels of the release, 30 years ago, of their classic Deguello album (it features 9 of the 10 songs from it). The show found ZZ Top in the era prior to the band’s discovery of sequencers and synthesizers and epitomized the down ‘n’ dirty take no prisoners attitude of “that lil’ ol’ band from Texas” nickname. To this day, this disc is a true best of ZZ Top in the seventies. 

Disc two, subtitled “ALMOST NOW,” was shot during their European tour in 2008, includes 11 performances, interview clips, and backstage footage to create the ultimate ZZ Top on the road movie. 

One of the most instantly recognizable sounds in rock music, ZZ Top’s signature brand of boogie ‘n’ blues has earned them massive success, including an induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Since their 1969 inception in Houston, Texas, the trio of singer/guitarist/frontman Billy F Gibbons, bassist Dusty Hill, and drummer Frank Beard has spent almost 40 years delivering Southern-fried sizzle without a personnel change. 

With nearly 30 years between the performances, Double Down Live gives a fascinating insight into what has maintained the ZZ Top live phenomenon. This release follows the huge success of the Live From Texas Eagle releases of last year on CD, DVD, and Blu-ray. The DVD spent over a year on the charts, with 3 weeks at the #1 position. 

Eagle Rock Entertainment is an international media production and distribution company operating across audiovisual entertainment programming. Eagle Rock Entertainment works directly alongside talent to produce the highest quality programming output covering film, general entertainment and musical performance. Eagle Rock Entertainment has offices based in London, New York, Germany, France & Toronto. 

For more information regarding this and other Eagle Rock Entertainment releases, contact Carol Kaye at Carol@Kayosproductions.com. 

Track listing: 
Disc One – Definitely Then 1980 
1) I Thank You 
2) Waitin’ For the Bus 
3) Jesus Just Left Chicago 
4) Precious And Grace 
5) I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide 
6) Manic Mechanic 
7) Lowdown In The Street 
8) Heard It On The X 
9) Fool For Your Stockings 
10) Nasty Dogs & Funky Kings 
11) El Diablo 
12) Cheap Sunglasses 
13) Arrested For Driving While Blind 
14) Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers 
15) La Grange 
16) She Loves My Automobile 
17) Hi Fi Mama 
18) Dust My Broom 
19) Jailhouse Rock 
20) Tush 
21) Tube Snake Boogie 
22) Just Got Paid 

Disc Two – Almost Now 2008 
1) Got Me Under Pressure 
2) Waitin’ For The Bus 
3) Jesus Just Left Chicago 
4) I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide 
5) Blue Jean Blues 
6) Heard It On The X 
7) Just Got Paid 
8) I Need You Tonight 
9) La Grange (with Sloppy Drunk & Bar-B-Q) 
10) Hey Joe 
11) Tush 

# # #